HB2275 – The Right to Vote! – Elimination of the 6-mile Veto

HB2275 – The Right to Vote! – Elimination of the 6-mile Veto

Arline and I have always wanted to keep San Tan Heights Community Watch apolitical. We as a group should not take a stance one way or the other on any political view save for issues that are safety related.

We are posting an email we received this morning from Randall Lockner as a public service to the community. Below you will find contact / meeting info that pertains to new legislation that aims to eliminate the 6 mile veto rule for incorporation. This is the rule that allowed Florence, Apache Junction and Gilbert to come out against San Tan Valley incorporating because they were within 6 miles of the proposed boundaries for San Tan Valley.

We urge you to let your representatives know one way or the other how you feel about eliminating this rule and making it easier for San Tan Valley to incorporate.

If you don’t want to incorporate, let them know you are against HB 2275.

If you do want to incorporate, let them know you are for HB 2275.

Either way, we urge you to let them know.

Please read the email below for more information.

 

Dear Friends and Neighbors,

The Honorable Frank Pratt is sponsoring change to the antiquated incorporation laws that have thus far prevented our community from having a vote on incorporation.  You may read more about this in a recent article from San Tan Valley Today. (http://santanvalleytoday.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=1227&catid=1227&Itemid=142)

Please participate in the legislative process by expressing your support for this prior to Tuesday February 8th.  If you feel that it’s best that our citizens not have a VOTE on whether to incorporate, you’re invited to share that opinion as well.

If you decide to attend the Committee Hearing on Tuesday, the location is:

Tuesday, February 8, 2011 at 2 p.m. in Room HHR 4

Arizona House of Representatives
Capitol Complex
1700 West Washington
Phoenix, AZ 85007-2890

The Google map of that location is at the following URL:

http://bit.ly/fIyKYG

If you prefer to send emails to the Committee members, you may “copy and paste” their email address from the following list:

Mrs. Judy Burges, Chairman                        jburges@azleg.gov

Mr. Steve Urie, Vice-Chairman                  surie@azleg.gov

Mr. Ben Arredondo                                        barredondo@azleg.gov

Ms. Katie Hobbs                                               khobbs@azleg.gov

Mrs. Michelle Ugenti                                      mugenti@azleg.gov

Mr. Tom Forese                                                tforese@azleg.gov

Mr. Eric Meyer                                                  emeyer@azleg.gov

Mr. Steven Montenegro                              smontenegro@azleg.gov

Thank you for your time and consideration of this important matter.

Highest regards,

Randy

Randall Lockner

Phone: (480) 231-7786
Email: rlockner@usa.net

This transmission is intended for the sole use of the individual and entity to whom it is addressed, and may contain information that is privileged, confidential and exempt from disclosure under applicable law. You are hereby notified that any use, dissemination, distribution or duplication of this transmission by someone other than the intended addressee or its designated agent is strictly prohibited. If you have received this transmission in error, please notify the sender immediately by reply to this transmission and delete it from your computer.

Advertisements

About Jeff

Long time volunteer in the San Tan Valley/Queen Creek area of Arizona.

Posted on February 6, 2011, in In the news, Meeting, Politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: